Help, my tumble dryer is broken!

As a stay at home Mum, the running of the house is left to me.  It seems that housework is never ending.  There are now more time-saving domestic appliances than ever to use.  When I think of what my Mum told me about what they used to use for housework, especially to do washing, we are lucky. They had to use a mangle, which was time-consuming and dangerous for squashed fingers!

antique-laundry-mangle-9113266
Antique mangle

At the moment I am between tumble dryers.  Mine broke, albeit after 11 years, the replacement has not arrived yet!

I feel that tumble dryers are one of those appliances that you either love or are not fussed by.  For me I love it.  It saves me having to try and drape sheets and towels all over the house.  I also wash my husband’s teams’ football kit each week and it plays a key role in getting through the smelly kit as quickly as possible! This is also not the weather to be drying outside at all.

Even when I moved into my one bedroom flat, when I first left home, I made sure there was room in the kitchen for a tumble dryer.  It was a condenser one but it still made a huge difference as drying space was limited.

IMG_8447
The empty space

Are you a lover or indifferent? Why?

Vented or Condenser?

What is your favourite appliance?

My top 5 reasons why tumble dryers are great:

  1. They dry clothes
  2. They lead to less ironing (I am not a natural ironer!)
  3. They take us less room than a clothes airer
  4. They don’t cost too much to run on average just under £100 a year
  5. The make the whole washing process faster. I can strip my bed, wash and dry it, and have it back on my bed in under 2 and a half hours. Perfect!

So for now I will continue to work my way through my washing, one load at a time and wait, as patiently as possible, for the new one to arrive!

Leave a Reply

